Now Serving – Tequila Jammer

By The Gentleman

Jammy Tequila

Deadlines turn me into a procrastinator, but unlike a normal person when I procrastinate I don’t just watch TV or play video games, I get in the kitchen. Procrastibaking, procrastisaucing, basically anything food related that’s a little bit different and allows me to experiment seems a hell of a lot better than studying. My latest focus is on procrastipreserving, whipping up jams and fruit butters, instead of introductions and conclusions. Preserving is great because you can use whatever fruit you happen to have available. I made a rather delicious raspberry jam, with a few extra flavours added in. While we’ve been enjoying it slathered on bagels, we’ve always got cocktails on the brain. So now we’ve added jam to a delicious cocktail. Oh my.

Jammy Tequila

Tequila Jammer
1 heaped spoon of Raspberry Jam
30mL Jalapeño Syrup (see recipe here)
60mL Espolon Blanco Tequila
250mL Fever-Tree Club Soda
4 raspberries for garnish
Ice

In your cocktail shaker add the jam, syrup and tequila. With a whisk or a fork combine the ingredients together. I did this so the jam would be mixed in and not all clumpy. You could shake it but this way I could make sure the jam had mixed in to the level I wanted. When your jam is no longer clumpy, grab a tall glass and add ice then pour in your boozy jam mix. Top with club soda and garnish with raspberries and a drizzle of extra jalapeño syrup.

Jammy Tequila

I constructed the cocktail with these ingredients in order to reflect the flavours of the jam I had made because, well,  pairing flavours is my jam (sorry I had to have at least one ‘that’s my jam’ reference in here). The jam was made from raspberries, tequila and some of the jalapeño syrup. It has a really nice fruity flavour that is no where near as sweet as commercial jam and the jalapeño syrup gives it this undercurrent of heat and something a little different. If you’re making this with store jam I’d get a seedless one but when it’s homemade you don’t really care about a little thing like seeds.

Jammy Tequila

So I’d have to start describing this little cocktail by saying that the drink was damn tasty. It looked spectacular, a very pretty deep red colour from the combination of the jam and the jalapeño syrup. The tequila and jalapeño syrup gave the drink this gorgeous spicy heat. It wasn’t overwhelming but instead left this super pleasant tingling sensation on your tongue. The jalapeño syrup also adds a smokiness to the drink, which is very nice. The raspberry jam isn’t as strong as I would have expected. Instead it adds a subtle sweetness to the drink which helps to balance out the heat from the other components. We’re also really digging putting bits of whole fruit in our cocktails at the moment. This time, the extra raspberries just soak up all the flavours and leave you with this delicious bite of sweet drunken raspberry. It is definitely an explosion of flavour in your mouth that you owe yourself to try.

 

Making the Tequila Jammer proves that avoiding deadlines and procrastipreserving is even more fun when you get cocktails out of it! The drink is a delicious mix of smoky jalapeño heat and a little raspberry sweetness that looks so impressive and tastes just as good. Things that look and taste good, well, that’s my jam (Yes, two times)!

 

As always remember to like, share, and follow The Cocktail Challenge on FacebookTwitterInstagram and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

