Boozefood – Strawberry & Lime Rekorderlig Cupcakes

By The Lady

cupcake1

So after The Gentleman made the Macadamia Beer Cake, I think I have developed an addiction to Boozefood! I get to consume baked goods AND alcohol at the same time?! This idea is both thrilling and a little worrying at the same time. Do I need to seek professional help? Not if I can become a functioning boozefoodaholic! Recently, I have also been reminiscing about the time my father made scones using blue lemonade he acquired on a holiday to Mount Gambier. This got me thinking about whether I could use alcohol in the same way i.e. to make light and fluffy cupcakes and at the same time incorporating the flavour of the alcohol.This led me to the idea of  … Rekorderlig cupcakes! The recipe I used for my Rekorderlig cupcakes was a modified version of a recipe I found on TinyTimTams. I made a few changes because I am both a) lazy and b) clumsy (I try so hard to be a fully functioning adult, but it never seems to work out for me). The recipe makes 24 cupcakes folks, so be prepared for a mountain of food!

cup4

I used :

4 eggs

200 gm butter

2 1/2 cups caster sugar

3 cups self raising flour

300 mL Rekorderlig Strawberry & Lime Cider

250 gm cream cheese

250 gm icing sugar (I used icing sugar mixture, even though Tam says not to because I am a careless supermarket shopper and also because I am a baking rebel)

1 punnet strawberries

2 limes

cupcake3

For the cupcakes

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius

Line 2 x 12 hole muffin trays with cupcake liners

Mix together with electric beaters your butter and sugar until combined.

Then, on a low speed, add eggs gradually until just combined.

With a spoon, add your cider and flour gradually (I mixed it all into the existing mixture in four lots)

Divide the mixture between the cupcake liners (Remember, it makes 24 so don’t go crazy with your first tin!)

Bake for 20 minutes (The original recipe says to bake for 15 minutes, but I found some of my cupcakes weren’t cooked entirely through at this point. You can always check by poking several of your cupcakes with a skewer. If there is still wet cupcake mixture on your skewer, they are still raw. If your skewer is clean when you take it out, they are cooked! Remember to check a few of your cupcakes because different ovens have hotter spots than others!)

Remove cupcakes from oven and cool on a cooling rack.

cupcake2

For the icing
With an electric mixer, mix cream cheese until soft and add icing sugar gradually. Add lime juice and rind to your icing. Ensure you use an even amount of icing on each cupcake so you don’t run out or end up with an uneven distribution. Garnish your cupcakes with strawberries. I used halved strawberries but you could alternatively use slices or even fanned strawberries if you are super clever!

You may notice that the original recipe used twice the amount of cream cheese and icing sugar for the icing. The true reason why I halved the amount is because I dropped half of it on my kitchen floor (swearing ensued)! It all worked out okay though because I prefer cupcakes that aren’t smothered in icing, and the amount that I made was actually perfect for me. If you like lots of icing, make sure you aren’t as clumsy as me so you can use ALL the cream cheese you buy!

cup

The resulting cupcakes were very tasty and delicious! The use of the Rekorderlig does in fact make the cupcakes very light. The Rekorderlig gets it’s bubble on, go science, and everyone is better for it. They had a lovely strawberry scent and I think adding the lime rind was a nice touch to the icing. Even with the addition of the cider the cupcakes didn’t end up tasting that much sweeter, which meant you could gorge on one or two or four. Using this recipe meant that I had 24 cupcakes at my disposal and also half a bottle of left over Rekorderlig to drink while the cupcakes were in the oven! Who could ask for a better afternoon really?

cup3

As always remember to like, share, and follow The Cocktail Challenge on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

