Out & About – Dragonfly Bar and Dining

I’ve been a fan of Dragonfly, nestled away in Victoria Square, for some time now. It was the place where I first discovered Rekorderlig Cider and it provided a reminder that not every place in Adelaide has to turn into a club at 9pm. So it was with great pleasure that I returned there. I opted for the Tinkers Mule and my partner chose The Pearess.

Inside Dragonfly. Courtesy of Weekend Notes

We sat outside on this particular evening as it was quite nice and as we move closer and closer to winter, nights like that are going to be few and far between. It was certainly an entertaining evening; overhearing a guy telling his female drinking buddy that guys and girls can’t be friends, slowly getting into weirder and weirder conversation on the relative need of certain people to be laid or not, observing a bit of an altercation with one of the customers and security and also witnessing a group that could be best stereotyped as punks maybe mocking a group of hipsters after they’d left (they do it too!).

(L) Tinkers Mule. (R) The Pearess

(L) Tinkers Mule. (R) The Pearess

The Tinkers Mule is something I’ve had before and something I will keep having because it’s so damn  good. Its Dragonfly’s take on a Moscow Mule, but they let the bar’s Asian influence shine through. It’s a mix of muddled fresh ginger, lemongrass and shiso that then has Sake, Absolut Vodka, elderflower cordial, yuzu juice and ginger beer added to it. Phew that’s quite a mouthful and half of it I needed to look up to know what it was but it all works well together. For those of you playing at home shiso is an Asian spice from the mint family (you can get a Shiso Pepsi!) and yuzu juice is made from a Japanese citrus fruit that apparently tastes somewhat like a lemon or lime.

This drink certainly honors its Mule title because it has some kick. It’s the mix between the sake, vodka and fresh ginger that does it in my opinion. You end up with two kinds of heat. The first is from the ginger, both the fresh and ginger beer, and its a nice, spicy heat. Then, after that, the lasting sensation is the heat from the sake and vodka but without that awful burning from the alcohol. There is also a bit sweetness to it and that would probably be the elderflower and yuzu working. It just takes some of the edge of and makes the drink super drinkable. It’s a drink for cold, wet night in my opinion. Delicious.

pearess

I only quickly sampled The Pearess because I wanted to get back to my Tinkers Mule. It’s a smooth blend of Plymouth Sloe Gin, Bols Pomegranate Liquer, some Absolut Pear Vodka and some pear nectar. I did have a quick sip and tasted like a nice mix. The pear flavor was there and despite a fair bit of alcohol it wasn’t overly strong. It also came well presented with a nice fan of pear on the side. My partner echoed these comments, particularly impressed by the fact that it wasn’t too sweet and showed that it was a well made cocktail by being very easy to drink, with a smoothness as it went down.

Dragonfly hasn’t let me down yet and I’m looking forward to my next visit. The only problem is trying to pull myself away from the Tinkers Mule, something I know is going to be great, to try something different.

 

As always remember to like, share, and follow The Cocktail Challenge on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

